Concealed Carry FAQ
How much do
the Concealed Carry Classes cost?
class price for the basic concealed carry course is $60. We also have guns available for rental starting at $10 (including ammunition).
How long is the Concealed Carry class? Is the entire class completed within the same day?
Classes run eight hours, including both the classroom and range portions of the class (class and range are at the same location in south Broken Arrow). Classes are completed the same day except where otherwise noted on the schedule.
When and where do you hold classes?
- We usually hold
classes on the weekend - your choice of a Saturday or a Sunday.
Classes run from 8:00 AM until 4:00 PM. See
our Class Schedule page for a full list. Our regularly scheduled
classes are held at our classroom facility right right at our range,
at 15302 S. 193rd E. Ave., which is a half mile south of 151st, just
off 193rd (County Line) in Broken Arrow. See our Range
Info page for specific directions.
Mobile classes' locations are flexible, depending on student needs. We do hold mobile classes in the Tulsa area, and we can additionally travel anywhere in Oklahoma to meet your scheduling and location needs as requlred.
I have never fired a gun before/have very limited firearms experience, is that a problem?
- Having no prior firearms
experience or limited firearms experience when signing up for the
Concealed Carry Class is no problem whatsoever - the Concealed Carry
Class is actually specifically designed as a beginner's class by the
state. It grades you only on Gun Safety. We cover everything you need
to know to get started with concealed carry in class, and we also
share a number of free informational resources to get you up to
speed. Many individuals take this class as an introduction to
firearms. Regardless of your skill level, we will never talk down to
you about guns - we've all had to learn about something new at some
point or another in our lives, and this subject is no different.
Learning about firearms and concealed carry is like learning how to
drive a car - there is no magic to it, it's an acquired skill set
that comes with time, patience, and perfect practice. The concealed
carry class is designed to get you where you need to be, and
relatively comfortable with beginning concealed carry by the end,
even if you've never even handled a gun before the class. Please let
us know during the sign-up process if you are new to guns so we can
arrange additional instruction for you the day of class.
I do not own a firearm yet.
- We have rental
semi-automatic pistols available starting at $9.99, which includes the fifty
rounds of ammo necessary for qualification, and we do fully cover
their operation in class, so it is not a problem if you do not have
your own pistol at the time of the class. Please note that the
firearm you qualify with does not necessarily have to be the one you
carry, as there is no Firearms registration in Oklahoma,
though we do obviously recommend to practice as much with your
intended carry gun as possible.
Additionally, there is no minimum caliber requlrement on what you can qualify with and carry. The only restriction on caliber is that it must be .45 caliber or less, which is mandated by the SDA statutes. In Oklahoma, you do not qualify with a specific caliber, model or make of firearm...you only qualify with a type (semi-automatic, revolver, or derringer - see section immediately below for further details) - and qualifying with a semi-automatic firearm qualifies you for all three. It is perfectly acceptable to qualify with a .22 or any other caliber you want, and carry another firearm which is a larger or smaller caliber, and/or even of a different make or model.
Do you offer ammunition for sale the day of class, if I bring the wrong type of ammunition, forget, bring reloaded ammunition, etc.?
we keep 9mm and .22 ammunition on hand, and is available for purchase. If you have another caliber,
please make arrangements before class.
I have been told that if I qualify with a revolver I cannot carry a semi-automatic pistol. Is that correct?
- Yes. The Oklahoma SDA (Self Defense Act) statute recognizes three
categories of handguns: derringer, revolver, and semi-automatic.
In order to carry all three of these
categories of pistols, you must qualify with a semi-automatic. If you only qualify with a revolver, you will
only be certified to carry revolvers and derringers, and if you
qualify with a derringer, you will only be able to carry derringers.
For this reason, we will qualify you with a semi-automatic even if you intend to carry a revolver or derringer - there is
no extra cost or paperwork to qualify with a semi-auto, and we will
fully cover their function in class. Then you can decide for
yourself what kind of firearm you would like to carry, rather than being limited to one type.
Is there an accuracy requirement for the shooting portion of the class?
state mandates that you will be graded purely on safety for the
fifty-round shooting qualification portion of class, not on accuracy.
We do highly recommend that you continue your training to improve your proficiency and accuracy with your pistol,
and practice what we teach you as much as you can on an ongoing basis
both before and after the class to improve your accuracy. Check out our other courses by clicking here, and ask us about our special combo rates
for taking your Concealed Carry Class with one or more other classes
What do you cover in the Concealed Carry class?
- We cover the legalities of
concealed carry, what the License is and isn't, the legal standard
for the justifiable use of force, discuss some personal experiences
with concealed carry, share some free informational resources for
concealed carry, and gun safety, both in the classroom and down at
the range. You will be shooting 50 rounds for range qualification -
again, you will be graded on safety, not accuracy. We also help you
fill out the SDA (Concealed Carry) application, and completing the
application process, as well as some travelling with your license,
and a many other important items.
You will have a great time in class - we make everything not only educational, but entertaining as well - you will learn a ton and have a great time, to boot! Don't just take our word for it - click on our Testimonials page link above for student feedback on our classes!
If you would like to go beyond the state-mandated concealed carry material, check out our Defensive Pistol courses.
How does the Concealed Carry application process work?
terms of the necessary requirements to get your carry license, from
start to finish: you take a training class and get the training
certificate - (state-mandated maximum cost of $60), you fill out your
application (we will help you fill these out in class together at the
beginning of class for your convenience - you can download or order
these application packets and lawbooks at the following link: OSBI
Concealed Weapons Licensing, you get two passport photos, which
will be anywhere from $8-$10 depending where you get them
(Walgreen's, Wal-Mart, your Sheriff's office, etc.), you get two
money orders for $25 and $100, one for your local Sheriff's office
and one for the OSBI for your local/state and federal background
checks respectively, you take everything to your local county
sheriff's office (example: Broken Arrow is Tulsa County, so the
downtown Tulsa County Sheriff's Office in that instance), they
fingerprint you, they put your fingerprint cards back with your
application along with your passport photos, money orders, and
training certificate, the sheriff's office mails it to the OSBI for
you, and typically about 60-80 days later you receive a letter that
your license is ready for pickup at your local sheriff's office, and
you pick up your new license from them.
All in all, the whole licensing process is about $185-$195 the first time including the cost of the class. The license is good for five years, and $95 thereafter for every subsequent five years when your license comes up for renewal ($85 + new passport photos). That's less than $20 a year for a renewal, and less than $40 a year for the initial license. Effective November 1st of this year, you can get a 10-year license and license renewal for double the fee to the OSBI ($200 for a new license and $170 for a renewal).
All this may sound a little overwhelming at first, but we email you a checklist after class to make completing the licensing process as simple as possible.
What will stop me from getting my concealed carry license?
The main four categories of crime convictions that will stop you from receiving your concealed carry license are any sort of felony conviction, even a non-violent felony, any sort of drug or drug-related conviction, even a misdemeanor paraphernalia conviction, any sort of domestic violence conviction, or any sort of mental illness that required involuntary commitment to a mental institution. There are a few other items such as repeat DUIs within the last 3 years, but these are the main four categories.
I lost my certificate from the Concealed Carry Class, can I get a replacement from you?
Yes; provided you remember your class date, cost is $20. Please visit our signup page here and select "Replacement "CCW Certificate" - https://carrylegal.com/register.php.
My understanding is the Oklahoma Concealed Carry License is good in a number of other states. Which other states recognize the Oklahoma License?
- Absolutely. The Oklahoma Concealed
Carry License is now recognized in a total of thirty-seven (37)
states, including Oklahoma itself.
They are as follows: Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, Arizona, Colorado, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Idaho, Indiana, Kansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Michigan, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, Nebraska, New Hampshire, New Mexico, North Carolina, North Dakota, Ohio, Oklahoma, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Utah, Vermont, Virginia, Washington, West Virginia, and Wyoming.
For those traveling through or visiting Oklahoma from out of state, Oklahoma recognizes all other U.S. state's concealed carry licenses, assuming that state issues them (only Illinois and Vermont have absolutely no licensing processes whatsoever).
Where can I get more information about the Oklahoma Self-Defense Act laws?
- Here is the OSBI website and a link to
OK SDA law book in PDF (Acrobat Reader) format, as well as the OK SDA
(CCW) application: OSBI
Concealed Weapons Licensing.
The SDA division of the OSBI can also be reached directly at (800) 207-6724.
What is your policy regarding tardiness/absenteeism?
- Tardiness/absenteeism for
classes is not permitted, and will result in a rescheduling fee or forfeiture of your
class tuition. Classes start promptly at the noted times (usually
8:00 AM), so plan on arriving no later than 15 minutes before that
time. Class doors open 30 minutes before class start time.
What is your refund/reschedule policy, in case I have to miss class for whatever reason?
- We do understand that unforseen circumstances come up from time to time, and for that reason, we do offer one courtesy reschedule to a later class at no additional charge, provided you notify us in a timely manner (described below) BEFORE class, so we can fill these slots with other individuals from waiting lists. If you notify aftr the required time, there will be a rescheduling fee assessed. The required advance notice times are -
For the Concealed Carry (SDA) Classes - specific time depends on how quickly a given class books to capacity, but no later than 12:00 PM the Thursday before your class,
For the advanced courses (beyond SDA class) - specific time depends on how quickly a given course books to capacity, but no less than three weeks advance notice is required to avoid incurring tuition forfeiture.
Typically, the advance notice required to reschedule will be included in the confirmation email sent out before class.
Note that we do not offer refunds for any classes or training, as scheduling your slot in the class still costs us time and money, whether or not you actually attend the date you're scheduled for. We do however offer a satisfaction guarantee on our classes - you will get the information you need and have a great time!
What is a "Floater" reservation?
- We have set up "Floater" registrations for those
who would like to register for a class but are unsure what date will work for them.
This allows anyone to take advantage of any limited-time special offers without committing to a date.
You will have one year from the date of registration to select your class date. After you register,
simply email or call us with your preferred date, and we will get you scheduled into any available course.
When are your next classes, how do I sign up, and what methods of payment do you take?
- Glad to
hear you're interested in taking your class with us! Our upcoming
class schedule is listed on the Class Schedule
page. Please visit the "Sign
Up!" page to complete the class sign-up process. You can
contact us any time at (918) 237-2063, or via email at
info@CarryLegal.com, if you
have questions not answered here or simply would prefer to complete
the registration process with a person. Please Note: Payment is due
at the time of class reservation(s). We accept both Credit and Debit
Cards (Visa/MC/Discover) and cash (must be received at
time of class reservation). Checks are only accepted in very limited
instances and only with prior approval. Thank you, and look forward
to speaking with you soon!
What do I need to bring to the Concealed Carry class?
For the classroom:
Pen and paper or PDA (note-taking supplies)
OKLAHOMA driver's license or other Oklahoma state-issued photo ID
Money for lunch or a sack lunch - classes include a one-hour lunch
For range time:
RELIABLE, UNLOADED Semi-automatic firearm (if you are not renting one from us) - chamber unloaded, magazine unloaded - you will need only one unloaded magazine for the range portion of class.
Ammo for your firearm (if you are not renting) - minimum 50 rounds. NO RELOADS ARE ALLOWED - YOU MUST BRING FACTORY AMMUNITION, BY STATE MANDATE.
Hearing protection (Earplugs and/or earmuffs)
Ball cap (don't forget this one!)
Note to all students: If you are bringing your own gun to class, PLEASE MAKE SURE TO CLEAN AND OIL YOUR FIREARMS BEFORE CLASS, AND PLEASE MAKE SURE THEY ARE MAGAZINE/CHAMBER UNLOADED WHEN YOU COME TO CLASS...Thank You!